Vegan MoFo #3 – Lotus Speculoos is Vegan!

Hmmm, at 3 or 4 o’clock in the afternoon a warm cup of coffee or hot cocoa. It perks me up and gives a good glowing feeling on colder days. And, if I am honest, sometimes some cafeine is more then welcome. For those who love it, there is of course tea, but I’m not big fan of tea. Maybe some chai tea, but that’s about it.
So, a hot beverage, accompanied by a cookie that you can dunk in your drink and almost ‘melts’ in your mouth. Ow yeah.

I love to dunk a speculoos in my hot beverage. And I am so glad that I can still do this as a vegan! Because in Lotus Speculoos there are no animal products at all, so it is vegan. Let’s not mention the fact that there’s quite some sugar in speculoos…

Ingredients: flour, sugar, vegetable oil and fat, candy syrup, raising agent (sodium bicarbonate), soy flour, salt, cinnamon.

Nutrition facts per 100g:
Energy (kcal): 484
Protein (g): 4.9
Carbohydrates (g): 72.7
Sugars (g): 38.1
Fat (g): 19
Saturated fat (g): 8.8
Fibres (g): 1.3
Sodium (g): 0.37

I hope some people will be glad now that they this sweet treat is vegan! Enjoy!

(I don’t know exactly if Lotus Speculoos is available in the US, but if you happen to visit Europe, you know you can eat these cookies!)

7 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo #3 – Lotus Speculoos is Vegan!

  1. janice says:

    Speculoos rocks! We’ve got them here in the US, sold under the name Biscoff, but it’s still part of the Lotus company.

  2. Caroline says:

    We get them in England in cafes individually wrapped with a hot drink. But yesterday I saw big packets of them in a supermarket for the first time so I bought 2. In fact they were the last 2 on the shelf, maybe other vegans had got there before me!

  3. Emily says:

    Oh man, this makes me nostalgic for when I lived in Paris and a package of generic Speculoos cookies was a little over a euro. I could devour a whole package in a day or two no problem.

Leave a Reply

