5. Treasure Thursday – Book: De Snelle Vegetariër

Recensie: De Snelle Vegetariër | De Groene Keuken

Today I’m reviewing De Snelle Vegetariër by Jacinta Bokma. Translated this means The Quick Vegetarian, the book is not translated to English. But nevermind that, I’ll just explain what I liked and which recipes I made.

Recensie: De Snelle Vegetariër | De Groene Keuken

The layout was pretty, it had some nice rustic food photography in it, just the way I like it. Each chapter has a short intro combined with a beautiful picture (see below).

Recensie: De Snelle Vegetariër | De Groene Keuken

I tried two breakfast recipes: a Pink Morningsmoothie and the Powersmoothie. The first one consisted of almondmilk, flax seeds and red fruits. The powersmoothie was a blend of bananas, hempseeds, almondmilk and I added some cinnamon (because I loooove cinnamon). J. and I both liked them very much.

De Snelle Vegetariër | De Groene Keuken

I tried the Sundried Tomato Cashewdip for lunch today, we fell in love. So i’ll definitely be making this again!
There were also two dishes which were in her previous cookbook (which was completely vegan – though I liked De Snelle Vegetariër better): Pasta with grilled asparagus (in this book there was cashewcrème with it, in the one before it was a crème made of macademia nuts) and pain perdu.

De Snelle Vegetariër | De Groene Keuken

We also tried a 3-minute-brownie, which I didn’t like that much. It was definitely not bad, but it was a little heavy on the stomach. Plus I rarely like something that comes out of the microwave :-p.

There are more recipes which I’d like to try, like breakfast muffins, white bean dip, carrot pepper soup, nut burgers, raw Italian burgers, and so on.

De SNelle Vegetariër | De Groene Keuken

I’d recommend this book because the ingredients are almost always widely available, the recipes are pretty easy to make and they are quick. It’s a good thing that they’re quick, because we don’t always have the time to make dinner that takes 2 hours to prepare. What I really liked is that a lot of the recipes are vegan, or easily veganized.

De Snelle Vegetariër – Jacinta Bokma
Karakter Uitgevers, Uithoorn, 2013 – 167 p.

One thought on “5. Treasure Thursday – Book: De Snelle Vegetariër

Leave a Reply

