19. Treasure Thursday – Veggie Voor Starters

Veggie voor Starters | De Groene Keuken

Today there is another review about a Dutch kookboek, Veggie Voor Starters (Veggie for Beginners) from Miki Duerinck and Kristin Leybaert. The lay-out is nice and playful. The photography is simple but very beautiful. All vegan recipes are indicated with a green V. A lot of the recipes which aren’t vegan, are easily made vegan.

Veggie Voor Starters | De Groene KeukenLast week I made herbed red lentil soup. There are a lot of soups I made out of cookbooks, which were always lacking something in flavor. This one tasted great! J. and I both loved it. The only adjustment I made, was adding veg bouillon and I mixed it at the end. This one is going to be made again in the Green Cuisine!

A while ago I tried the soyburger with fresh herbs. I made balls out of it in stead of a burger and put them in tomato sauce. I ate balls in tomato sauce with french fries (which is quite a typical dish in Belgium). They were good, but not awesome. So I think I’m gonna make them again, but without the tomato sauce, this made them a little bit mushy.

Veggie Voor Starters | De Groene Keuken

I also tested Imam Bayaldi (p.43), which I mentioned here. This is aubergine, filled with onion, garlic, tomatoes, pine nuts, the filling of the aubergine and plenty of herbs. It was a fine dish, but I know now that I’m not a fan of cinnamon in savory dishes. I’m gonna make it again, but probably a bit spicier in stead of cinnamon.

There are loads of other recipes I would like to try, ranging from soups to desserts, main dishes, salads, dips and spreads. Veggie Voor Starters will be handled with care, so I can make plenty of use of it in the future. It’s a book that’s perfect for people who want to cut out meat slowly, but also for vegans like me. Thanks to the easy recipes, combined with lots of plant-based food. This one is a keeper!

Veggie Voor Starters – Miki Duerinck & Kristin Leybaert
Standaard Uitgeverij / WPG Uitgevers België, Antwerp, 2013 – 255 p.

Leave a Reply

